Ynyshir Hall was had a fascinating history. Cherished by a series of eminent owners including Queen Victoria, who was responsible for much of the gardens as we see them today.
Parts of the hall date back to the 15th century but the first recorded owner was David Lloyd, who lived here in the 17th Century. His son, John Lloyd, had the nearby Eglwysfach church built.
Ynyshir Hall was later acquired and refurbished by Queen Victoria. She loved the abundance of birds on the estate and was responsible for planting many of the trees in the gardens.
The well-known Welsh poet, Rev. R S Thomas, was the vicar in Eglwysfach for many years.
Work on the gardens continued in 1928, when Ynyshir Hall was sold to William Hubert Mappin of jewellers, Mappin and Webb. On his death in 1966, 1,000 acres of the estate were sold to the RSPB, to establish the bird reserve that still exists today.